Illinois State Marching Band Championships



2021 Invitational - 10.23.21

ISMBC Participating Band Enrollment as of September 02

Congratulations to the bands performing at the Illinois State Marching Band Championships in 2021!

- 1. Bands will be classified 1A thru 6A using the official IHSA published enrollments for 2021-2022.
 - https://www.ihsa.org/Schools/EnrollmentsClassifications/TwoYearCycleEnrollmentsandClassifications.aspx? *Last updated at 8:37 am on Friday, May 14, 2021
 - ISMBC Class definitions (approx.): 1A < 650, 2A < 1300, 3A < 1700, 4A < 2000, 5A < 2500, 6A = unlimited
- 2. Classes are merged within Sessions: Session A (1A-2A), Session B (3A-4A), and Session C (5A-6A).
- 3. Classes and Sessions will be finalized in August.
 - A band may request to move up to a higher class, subject to keeping the field balanced.
 - Bands near the classification borders may be moved up or down to balance classes.
- 4. The ISMBC class of individual bands will not be made public until competition results are announced/posted.
 - Awards will be given in each class 1A-6A: Crowd Appeal, High Visual, High Music, High GE, 3-2-1 rank.
- 5. A random draw for prelim performance times, mixing classes within each session, will occur in late August.
 - Performance order for 2021 is Session A; Session B; Session C.

6. Change to 2021 Finals:

15 advancing bands compete in a single event, with a structured random draw. Session A: 1A+2A. Each Class Winner and the next 1 highest session score advance to Finals. Session B: 3A+4A. Each Class Winner and the next 3 highest session scores advance to Finals. Session C: 5A+6A. Each Class Winner and the next 5 highest session scores advance to Finals.

if a Class Winner is unavailable, the next highest score in the same Class will advance as class designate.

Session A appx. 7:00a-10:30a

1A and 2A < 1300 enrollment

Canton HS Brianna Haas **Todd Stalter** Eureka HS Karol Domalik Herscher HS Illinois Valley Central HS Matt Chapman Limestone Community HS Justin Bainter Marengo Community HS Todd Stellmach Timothy Grav Morton HS Tyler DeVault Olympia HS Kevin Pruiett Paris HS Prairie Central HS **Brendan Vincent** Providence Catholic HS Lawrence Rogers Rushville-Industry HS Doug Claudius University HS Jason Landes

Session B appx. 10:30a-2:00p

3A and 4A < 2000 enrollment

Alan B. Shepard HS Christopher Pitlik Argo Community HS Jeanette Soebbing Batavia HS Chris Owen **Bloomington HS** Max Chernick Collinsville HS Alfredo Deleon DeKalb HS Steven Lundin Jason & Jill Shea Dunlap HS John Hersey HS Spencer Hile Lemont HS Dave Nommensen Marian Catholic HS Greg Bimm Clark Anderson Romeoville HS Mike Wawrzynski United Township HS

Session C appx. 2:00p-6:00p

5A and 6A > 2000 enrollment

Downers Grove South HS **Greg Hensel** Edwardsville HS Ryan Lipscomb Harry D. Jacobs HS Anthony Gnutek **Huntley HS** Kevin Krivosik Joliet West HS Eric Wellman Lake Park HS Mike Lehman Lincoln-Wav MB Bert Johnson Lockport Township HS Brian Covey Naperville Central HS Brandon Estes Normal MB Lisa Preston Oswego HS

Oswego HS

Plainfield North HS

Tim Hatcher

Chair Regulate

Prospect HS
Victor J. Andrew HS
Warren Township HS
Wheaton North HS
William H. Taft HS

Chris Barnum
Mark Iwinski
Vince Genualdi
Kent Krause
Kevin Harriman

Session A Wait list

Oregon HS Andy Eckardt

Session B Wait list

Rock Island HS Peter Carlin Wheaton Warrenville S. HS Hannah Drake

Session C Wait list

v3 September