Skip to main content

School of Theatre and Dance Scholarships

The School of Theatre and Dance is proud to provide additional opportunities and support through scholarships.

Find Scholarships

Any Theatre and Dance Major

  • Eric R. Baber Fellowship

    The purpose of this grant program is to nurture the highest possible quality of excellence in graduate students in the fine arts. The main focus of the grant is to help develop top-notch individual performers and to enhance Illinois State University’s prestige as a place where the very finest musicians and artists study and perform.

  • Friends of the Arts Scholarships

    These scholarships are made available through the efforts of the Friends of the Arts organization. They are generally granted to continuing majors in art, arts technology, music, theatre and dance, who are evaluated on their academic achievement, artistry, and service to the School.

  • Friends of the Arts Academic Support Grants

    The Friends of the Arts offer grant support to Wonsook Kim College of Fine Arts students for their student-led creative projects, research, events and visiting artists. Grants are available for individuals and groups.Learn more and find out how you can apply

  • Grant-in-Aid

    This scholarship covers partial costs of tuition or fees. Generally, they are awarded based upon academic achievement, outstanding achievement in your major, and service to the School.

  • Ray Johnson Endowed Scholarship

    Awarded to any deserving graduate student in art, music, or theatre.

  • Norman J. Funk, Jr., Scholarship

    Funded by the Family of Norman J. Funk, Jr., this award honors the memory of this Theatre major and his passion for acting.

  • Caroline Gordon Scholarship

    Funded by a bequest from Caroline Gordon, longtime staff member of the School of Theatre and Dance, this cash award is granted to an upcoming senior who has shown outstanding commitment to the School.

  • Denny Mays Scholarship

    This scholarship is funded by the family and friends of the longtime scene shop supervisor who taught and mentored Theatre production students for more than two decades.

  • Sean Hayes Theatre Scholarship

    Following his enrollment at Illinois State University, Sean Hayes has had a remarkable career as an actor, producer, performer, and creative leader. Recipients of this award must be a theatre major with financial need and a GPA of 3.00 or above.

  • Helen Diane Hoblit Scholarship

    Alumna Susan Hoblit and her husband Larry Collins created the Helen Diane Hoblit scholarship in Theatre, in honor of her sister. Diane graduated in Theatre in 1965 and was an actress, director and educator in New York until her death in 1997. The theatre company she helped form over 25 years ago still exists today.

  • Jean Scharfenberg Scholarship

    This endowment was established in 1993 by family, friends, and colleagues of Jean Scharfenberg. The scholarship is awarded to a graduating student, either a senior or MFA candidate, majoring in acting. Candidates must demonstrate talent, discipline, and good work habits, attitude, performance work, and scholarship. Funds are to be used to defray costs involved in beginning a professional acting career.

  • Theatre of Ted Endowment Scholarship

    Since 2000, Theatre of Ted (an independent Registered Student Organization) has been raising funds for a special scholarship that has been fully-endowed. This scholarship has been given out each year since 2013 to a student or students who exemplifies their motto “Dare to Suck”. This motto encourages taking creative risks in any art form, but especially in theatre. This scholarship is open to all majors. Applications for the Dare to Suck Scholarship are available each spring from Theatre of Ted. Deadline for the application is April 1st.

  • Tuition Waiver

    Generally, new majors (new first-year and new transfers) receive priority in the awarding of Tuition Scholarships by the School of Theatre and Dance. For incoming students, these awards are based upon the evaluations of performance auditions, written tests, academic potential, and the needs of the School. Talent scholarships vary from one-time awards of $500 through annually renewable scholarships of $6,000.All undergraduate students who perform an entrance audition are automatically considered for scholarship. Current Illinois State students who wish to be considered for a talent scholarship must submit the Current Student Scholarship Application.

  • Suzzanne Douglas Scholarship

    Suzzanne Douglas attended Illinois State prior to a 30-year and continuing career as a successful television, cinema, and stage actress. Balancing career and family, Suzanne completed her degree in theatre from Illinois State University in 2011. She was a two-time Image Award winner, and she received a Black Oscar, a Reel Award, and the Mary Martin Award for her professional work. Suzanne established this scholarship to support a student majoring in theatre at Illinois State. Assets of this endowment are invested in the Illinois State University Endowment Investment Pool.

  • Blackfriars Scholarship

    The origin of the name "Blackfriars" dates back to the 13th Century. They were bands of hooded monks who presented shows from portable stages. The name "Blackfriars" was adopted by the ISNU Chapter, Kappa Lambda, when it was founded in 1934. The purpose of this fraternity was to present annual, humorous stage productions of the highest possible type on campus. The members wrote, produced, performed in, and built scenery for these productions. The Blackfriar organization provided a social atmosphere before the fraternity system was established on campus until it disbanded circa 1964. The Blackfriar scholarship is awarded to an undergraduate student with a major or minor in Theatre that has completed at least two semesters of coursework. Assets of this endowment are invested in the Illinois State University Endowment Investment Pool.

  • Illinois Shakespeare Festival Internship/Tuition Waiver

    These scholarships are awarded on the basis of talent. Students from Illinois State University and other colleges and universities may apply for this summer internship program with the Illinois Shakespeare Festival in the areas of: Acting, Directing, Costumes, Electrics, Props, Sound, Scenic, Stage Management, Company Management, and Education. This scholarship/tuition waiver is applied to 1-6 credit hours in Professional Practice in Theatre (THE 398) at Illinois State University for the summer term. Once selected, the Illinois Shakespeare Festival will pay the fees associated with the credit hours and interns will be offered free housing during their internship. Students will apply for the scholarship beginning in the Fall term for the upcoming summer Festival and the positions are open until the internship program is filled.

    For further information, please contact: