Skip to main content

Concert Band Festival

Concert Details

  • Venue

    Bands will perform in the Illinois State University Center for the Performing Arts. The event is free and open to the public. Recordings of each performance will be made for each band.

  • Clinicians:

    • Andrea Brown, Associate Director of Bands, University of Maryland
    • Peter Griffin, Chair of Music Department, Elmhurst University (Retired)
    • William L. Lake, Jr., Director of Concert Bands, George Mason University
    • James Stombres, Director of Bands, St. Charles North High School (Retired)
  • Details

    • This event is open to all junior high and high school bands on a first come basis.
    • Registration fee is $400 for each band entered in the event.
    • After each band performs in the Illinois State University Center for the Performing Arts, one clinician will work individually with the students.
    • Ensembles will receive:
      • A professional recording of their performance
      • Taped comments from clinicians
      • Written comments from clinicians
    • Bands will be asked to attend the performances of at least two other bands.
    • Bands will have the opportunity to attend a performance at no cost by either the Illinois State University Wind Symphony on Friday, April 28, 2023 or the Illinois State University Symphonic Winds on Saturday, April 29, 2023.
  • Invited Bands

    • Invited Bands receive the same opportunities as the other ensembles with additional experiences including:
      • A virtual clinic with their assigned clinician prior to their appearance at the festival
      • A dedicated evening performance at the end of each festival day
      • Complimentary tickets for all band members to attend a short evening concert by one of the Illinois State University Bands

    • 2023 Invited Bands
      • Lemont High School Symphonic Band; Matt Doherty, director
      • O'Fallon Township High School Symphonic Winds; Phil Carter, director
      • Wheaton Warrenville South High School Wind Symphony; Hannah Drake, director
      • Yorkville High School Wind Symphony; Bobby Vriezen, director
      • Yorkville High School Wind Ensemble; Victor Anderson, director